Monday, 27 April 2015

Refused - Elektra

I had no idea this was coming! A new Refused song and a new Refused album, please it's too much. I got to see the reunion show in 2014 and thought, "well at least I got to see them". But they've resurrected their hardcore mojo and Refused are fucking alive! 'Freedom' comes hot on the heels of 1998's 'The Shape Of Punk To Come'.

"It’s not a reunion anymore," said frontman Dennis Lyxzén in a statement. "This is one of the most radical things we've ever done, both musically and lyrically."

The new album, Freedom, is out June 30 via Epitaph and produced by Nick Launay (Gang Of Four, Public Image Ltd., Nick Cave, Arcade Fire) with additional work by fellow Swede and longtime Refused fan Shellback. It seems like perfect timing for the return of Refused and off the back of Dennis's screamed declaration in Elektra that, "nothing has changed" brings them right back into 2015. Welcome back and I can't wait to hear this record and see them on the road.

Track Listing:

Old Friends / New War
Dawkins Christ
Thought Is Blood
War On The Palaces
Destroy The Man
Servants Of Death
Useless Europeans

No comments:

Post a Comment